Cappella Papale

Maundy Thursday on Lateran

john xxiii consecrates bishopsMaundy Thursday in the Archbasilica of the Most Holy Savior and of Saints John the Baptist and John the Evangelist on the Lateran, 1962. During that ceremony, John XXIII conducted episcopal ordination of 12 cardinal deacons. It was the result of the law, implemented by the same pope, that all cardinals must be bishops. During the ceremony, the following cardinals were ordained: Albareda, Bacci, Bea, Bracci, Browne, Heard, di Jorio, Jullien, Larraona, Morano, Ottaviani and Roberti.